54 Fards


What are the 54 fards [1] ?

Islamic scholars have chosen 54 fards from the fards that every Muslim has to learn, believe and observe. They are as follows:

1. To believe in the Oneness of Allahu ta'ala and to never forget Him [that is, to be careful so that everything you do is compatible with Islam],

2. To eat and drink the things that are halal [2] ,

3. To perform wudu' [ablution],

4. To perform the five daily salat [3] (prayer) when their times come,

5. To perform ghusl [4] after haid [menstruation] and nifas [postnatal bleeding] and in order to extricate yourself from the state of janabat [impurity caused by sexual intercourse or by the flow of semen],

6. To believe the fact that Allahu ta'ala is the Guarantor of your rizq [sustenance],

7. To wear clean and halal clothes,

8. To work by putting your tawakkul [5] (trust) in Allah,

9. To be satisfied with what you have got,

10. To be thankful to Allahu ta'ala for His blessings [to use His blessings in accordance with the command of Islam],

11. To be content with qada [6] and qadar [7],

12. To be patient with afflictions [not to be rebellious],

13. To make tawba [repentance] for your sins,

14. To perform your acts of worship with ikhlas [doing all the good deeds and worships for the sake of Allahu ta'ala and for the purpose of obtaining His love and approval],

15. To consider the enemies of Islam as enemies,

16. To know the Qur'an al-karim as one of the four sources of Islam,

17. To prepare yourself for death, that is, to strive to die with iman by performing the fards and avoiding the harams (prohibitions),

18. To love whom Allahu ta'ala loves and not to love and to stay away from whom He does not love [it is termed hubb-i fillah and bughd-i fillah],

19. To do kindness to parents,

20. (For those who qualify) to spread the commandments of Islam as much as possible,

21. To visit your relatives who are your mahram [8] and who obey Islam,

22. Not to commit breach of trust (amanat),

23. To always abstain from harams by fearing Allah,

24. To obey Allah and His Prophet [that is, to do everything compatibly with Islam],

25. To avoid sins and to perform acts of worship,

26. Not to rebel against a ruler,

27. To observe the terrestrial and celestial creatures to take lessons,

28. To ponder about the existence of Allahu ta'ala,

29. To protect your tongue from saying haram, obscene words,

30. To purify your heart from useless things and harmful worldly wishes,

31. Not to make fun of anyone,

32. Not to look at haram [9],

33. To always be faithful to your word,

34. To protect your ears from listening to obscene words and musical instruments,

35. To learn commandments and prohibitions of Islam,

36. To measure and weigh accurately in buying and selling,

37. To always fear the torment of Allahu ta'ala and not to consider yourself to be safe from it,

38. Not to despair of Allahu ta'ala's Mercy,

39. To give the zakat [11] of your property to poor Muslims and to help them,

40. Not to follow the prohibited desires of your nafs [12],

41. To give food to a hungry person for the sake of Allah,

42. To work in order to acquire sufficient rizq (it consists of food, clothes and a house),

43. To give the zakat of your property and to give the 'ushr [13] of your crops,

44. Not to have sexual intercourse with your wife during a menstrual period or postnatal bleeding,

45. To purify your heart from sins,

46. To abstain from being arrogant,

47. To protect the property of an orphan (yatim),

48. To refrain from states and actions that cause carnal feelings towards young boys,

49. Not to leave the five daily prayers to qada' [14],

50. Not to associate partners with Allah,

51. To avoid fornication,

52. Not to drink alcoholic beverages,

53. Not to swear in vain,

54. Not to take away others' possessions unjustly and by violence, that is, by ill-gotten means and to be in fear of violating others' rights. [The most important right violation that incurs the severest requital is not to enjoin what is good (amr-i ma'ruf) and not to teach religious information to those who are your relatives and who are under your command. So is the case with bid'at [15] holders who strive to change the creed of Ahl as-Sunnat and defile the religion and faith.]

[1] fard: an act or thing that is commanded by Allahu ta'ala in the Qur'an al-karim. Fard (or fard) means (any behaviour or thought or belief which is) obligatory. Islam's open commandments are called fard (pl. faraid).
[2] halal: (act, thing) permitted in Islam.
[3] salat: i) prayer; (with salam)= salawat; ii) ritual prayer of at least two rak'as; "namaz", in Persian; salat janaza: funeral prayer.
[4] ghusl: ablution of the whole body as defined in fiqh.
[5] tawakkul: trusting in, expecting everything from Allahu ta'ala exclusively; expecting from Allahu ta'ala the effectiveness of the cause after working or holding on to the cause – before which tawakkul is unadvised. See Endless Bliss III, 35.
[6] qada: the instance of happening or creation of what is predestined; qadar, predestination of everything as Allahu ta'ala has decreed from eternity.
[7] qadar Allahu ta'ala's predestination in eternity of things that have been and will be created from eternity in the past to the everlasting future.
[8] mahram: within the forbidden (haram) degrees of relationship for marriage (nikah).
[9] haram: an action, word or thought prohibited by Allahu ta'ala.
[10] zakat: (fard duty of giving annually) certain amount of certain kinds of property to certain kinds of people, by which the remaining property becomes purified and blessed and the Muslim who gives it protects himself against being (called) a miser. See chapter 1 in Endless Bliss V.
[11] zakat: (fard duty of giving annually) certain amount of certain kinds of property to certain kinds of people, by which the remaining property becomes purified and blessed and the Muslim who gives it protects himself against being (called) a miser. See chapter 1 in Endless Bliss V.
[12] nafs: a force in man which wants him to harm himself religiously; an-nafs al-ammara. A negative force within man prompting him to do evil. (Nafs-i ammara). Nafs is ammara by creation, that is, it always wishes evil and harmful deeds to be done. It is reluctant to obey the Shari'at. The nafs of a man who obeys the Shari'at and makes progress in the way of tasawwuf becomes mutmainna. It wishes to obey the Shari'at.
[13] 'ushr: a kind of zakat.
[14] qada': i) decree of a qadi (Muslim judge); ii) performance of an 'ibada after its due time.
[15] bid'at: (pl. bida') heresy; false, disliked belief or practice that did not exist in the four sources of Islam but which has been introduced later as an Islamic belief or 'ibada in expectation of thawab (blessings) ; heresy.